Don Walker Awards

Best Industry and Clinical Abstract Award
Don Walker Awards for Best Industry and Clinical Abstracts

About the Awards

The Don Walker Awards recognise the best submitted industry/clinical case study abstracts for HISA’s annual Health Informatics Conference. Nominations are made by authors during the HIC call for papers. Submissions will be subject to double-blind peer review as per HIC review guidelines. The winner is determined by the abstract with the highest review score in each category.

  • Authors do not need to be a member of HISA to be eligible
  • Submissions must be original work and not previously presented before (material that has been previously presented ONLY at a
    conference outside Australia will be considered, provided the paper is not identical to any that has been previously published)
Selection & Review Process

Authors will submit their abstracts under with industry or Clinical. Submissions will be subject to double-blind peer review as per HIC review guidelines. In each award category the five (5) papers with the highest scores from the HIC review process will be shortlisted. The winner from each category is the abstract with the highest review score. The chair of the industry and clinical committee will approve the winning abstract (basing this on the reviewer scores and comments).

Award Announcement & Presentation at HIC

Winners will be presented with their awards at the HIC Gala Awards Dinner by either the MC or the HIC Industry/Clinical Case Study Program Chair. They will receive a trophy and certificate and will be promoted widely, including in the media.

About Don Walker

Dr Don Walker, past chairman of HISA and a pioneer in the application of computers in Australian healthcare, has an untiring commitment to the field that has spanned decades. Don has made a major contribution to Australian health informatics, particularly in the area of terminologies. It is in his spirit of continuous innovation that the Health Informatics Society of Australia has established these Awards.

Don Walker